December 4th, 2012

Facebook Cloning Scams – Copying Your Profile Picture

facebook-cloning

Facebook cloning scams that involve a scammer setting up fake Facebook accounts of real people to trick their friends into friending them on Facebook are proving to be extremely successful.

Imagine the scenario…

A scammer sets up a Facebook account under your exact name. They copy your profile picture and cover photo and upload it onto the fake account.

Then they start sending friend requests to all of your friends – claiming to be you – claiming that you had your account deactivated and need to refriend all of your friends.

How many of your friends would accept the request thinking it was really you? Probably quite a few, right?

That essentially describes Facebook cloning scams. Scammers clone your Facebook account using information that is set to public – i.e. the username, profile picture and cover photo – and using the users friend list, which will probably be public as well – begin sending friend requests.

And if your friends do accept the fake friend request they are potentially leaving themselves open to any number of different scams.

For example the scammer, whilst pretending to be a friend, may share links that – when clicked – lead to malicious websites that could harbour malware or possibly a phishing attack.

The scammer may also play the classic “Facebook friend in crisis” scam that involves pretending to urgently need money because they are stuck abroad.

Or, if you are sharing too much information on your Facebook profile, the scammer could collect details about you that could be used for identity theft. For example, are the answers to your online accounts “secret questions” available on your profile? Your mother’s maiden name? Pet name? First school? Even your home address?

If a scammer clones the account of one of your friends and tries to add you then you need to be aware of how this scam works in order to protect yourself.

So if you receive a friend request from someone you are already friends with on Facebook then be immediately skeptical and confirm with your friend that it is actually them, through phone, email or in person.

And on a much broader note – as always, be careful what information you share on Facebook. Don’t give anyone access to your most personal information – assume that everything you upload to Facebook isn’t 100% safe and then you can’t go too far wrong.

Remember you can join our helpful Facebook community here for help and updates on Internet nonsense. Let us know your thoughts on this story - comment on this story below.


  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1104097713 Donna Dupree Miller

    Block your friend list then nobody can see who you are friends with to send phony requests to.

    • arthur facteau

      Good idea, never thought of that.

  • Asif Ali

    You can also Visit below Post Link

    How to Find Out FAKE PROFILE PICTURES on Facebook Visit below Link

    http://www.kingtricks.com/find-fake-profile-pictures-facebook/

FREE online iPad mockup generation tool